Week 1 – 13,056

National Novel Writing Month has now been in full swing for a week. Because of it, I figured that I would check in. After all, dedicating all of my words to my story and none to my blog seemed unfair for an entire month.

Needless to say, I am slightly behind. Only about 300 words according to the goal set by the municipal liaisons. Not bad considering that I wrote less than 500 words my first day and around 1,000 the second. I have kicked it into a higher gear since then–4,000 words on Friday alone–but Mondays will never equate to many words. Not with my schedule.

However, my first week has gone well and taught me a few things:

1. 50,000 words is a lot more than I thought

2. I can write about 700 words an hour if I have a full cup of tea and a mind fuller of ideas

3. I am not a planner; I am a pantser

A planner being the type of writer who plans the story out more than not, and a pantser being one who flies by the seat of his pants. I thought I was a planner. How could I not be with so many notebooks filled with ideas, corrections, and notes on my stories? However, I realized this weekend that I am decidedly a pantser. A duo of characters appeared unexpectedly in the story, fulfilling a role I had just realized needed filled. I didn’t know what would come of them or what their purpose was. They simply formed as the words flowed from my fingertips to the keyboard. When I pointed this observation out to my husband, he laughed at me.

“Of course you’re a pantser,” he said. “You always have been.”

Ah, the things you never notice about yourself. But now I know. And knowing is half the battle.

3 responses to “Week 1 – 13,056

  • Ishana

    That’s the benefit of being a pantser — more likely to find unexpected things. Though planners experience the same, it tends to be to a slightly lesser degree. Most people fit somewhere between pantser and planner. Unless you quite literally sit down and just start writing with no plan whatsoever and continue the entire novel that way, you have at least a little bit of a planner in you. Finding your balance between pantser and planner is a great help.

    Glad to hear things are going well for you! 700 words an hour is a great pace. With that in mind, it will take you under 30 minutes to write those 300 words.

Leave a Reply

