Happy birthday, Tolkien!

Today is the birthday of one of my all-time favorite authors, JRR Tolkien.

January 3rd is always a big day for me. I usually read at least a few paragraphs of something by Tolkien, eat British food for dinner (scones anyone?), and top it all off with a toast to the professor, as suggested by The Tolkien Society, at 9:00.

I also contemplate how Tolkien has influenced me as a writer. I had already started working on my first novel when I read The Lord of the Rings for the first time. I was so intrigued by the amount of history and culture in Middle-earth and the way that it all plays into the books that I decided that my world needed a history of its own too. My world has never been the same.

So, here’s to a writer and professor who not only wrote some of the greatest books I have ever known but who has also influenced my writing for the better.

To the professor. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

