Zelda and the Sumerians

It’s been a busy month! Still no other parts for the Winter Writing Project for me–let’s be honest, the story was rather a fail anyways–but that doesn’t mean I’ve stopped writing or dreaming about stories.

There are five more weeks left to my school commitments. After that, you can expect me to post something a couple of times a week, like before. Until then, though, I’m going to try to get back to a weekly schedule.

Speaking of still dreaming of stories, my hubby and I love video games. He usually plays while I write, and I often watch so I can discuss the plots. Sometimes, if it’s not dreadfully difficult, I give it a go too. (Wimpy, I know, but hand-eye coordination has never been my strong point…. and if you were to see me in action, you would absolutely agree.)

The one franchise I always go for is the Legends of Zelda. The first one I played successfully was Ocarina of Time, and I fell head over heels in love with it. I’ve been hooked since then.

This weekend, my husband decided to conquer the one Zelda game he’s never had success with: Majora’s Mask. Since I always fall off of every platform at least once and always manage to get hit by every bat (I told you I was bad), we’ve decided to play as a team. I navigate him through with the help of a walkthrough (otherwise, the three day cycle is a nightmare), and he does all the dirty work of actually accomplishing the tasks in a reasonable amount of time. It’s a nerdy match made in Heaven.

Anyways, today, he stumbled upon an article about Majora’s Mask and two other stories with interesting similarities. Since I love mythologies, I thought I’d share it with you: Myth and Majora’s Mask. This way, you can think about Sumerian mythology next time (if ever) you try your hand at the unusual Zelda game.

Leave a Reply

