Dreaming of NaNoWriMo

The school year is gearing up, which means my time is a bit more limited for now. You know, lesson planning, reading novels and thinking of discussion topics, working on online content…. All fun, but definitely time-consuming.

But amongst reading O. Henry, Scott O’dell, and Shakespeare, I’ve also begun pondering this year’s NaNoWriMo. With the first novel in the final editing stage before I allow other eyes to scrutinize it and the second still very rough but starting to come together, I am considering trying my hand at the third part of the saga.

Perhaps it’s crazy to pants (write in the style of a pantser, that is… is there a proper verb for that yet?) through a first draft of one story while the ones chronologically before it are unfinished, but considering that each story is an isolated event–affected by those before it, but not utterly reliant–I’m willing to take the risk. With how long it takes me to be satisfied with a novel, I should start now if I want to finish it within five or six years.

What has inspired this? My boss, actually. As I’ve mentioned before, she knows I’m a writer. And this NaNoWriMo, she’s considering trying her hand at novel writing. It seems only fair to start completely from scratch with her since she’s willing to take the risk.

Are you already starting to consider NaNoWriMo too?

8 responses to “Dreaming of NaNoWriMo

  • C.B. Wentworth

    Every year I think about doing it, but then I remind myself that I enjoy planning the story out way too much. It takes me months to map out the characters and figure out the plot line. Once I’ve got all of that in place, the first draft comes together really quickly. Perhaps, one of these years I’ll be smart and complete The Big Notebook before November hits. :-)

    • Bryna

      I admire all the planning you’re able to put into a story before penning the first word. It seems like it must save so much time in the long run. If ever you do have The Big Notebook ready around November, you’ll have to let me know. I’d love to be your NaNo buddy. :)

  • Kristen Fairgrieve

    you know I thought they were having a summer camp, but either I didn’t get a follow-up email or it never happened…
    I’m in the first editing stage of my first novel, so I may skip WriMo this year. but I’ll encourage you the whole way! :D

    • Bryna

      As far as I know, they are still doing it but I’m not positive.
      Congrats! I hope the first round of editing is going well so far! If I were in the same position, I don’t think I’d do NaNo either. Sometimes it’s hard enough keeping one novel straight. :)
      Whenever you do participate, though, you’ll have to let me know so I can cheer you on too! :)

  • Sasperella

    Yikes! I starting doing some serious thinking about it the other morning but I scared myself. Got any planning hints and/or tips?

    Also, we are officially NaNo buddies. EEP!

    • Bryna

      The first (and biggest) one would be: don’t panic. :) I would also suggest working just a little bit at a time. After all, we still have three months before crunch time. Dedicate a few minutes each day to planning, and write the ideas down. By the time October 25th rolls by, you should have a good foundation to get you started.

  • A Wannabe Writer

    Wow, is it almost NaNoWriMo already? Time flies. Last year was a major failure on my side. I think writing a novel is out of my reach for now, but I would love to try my hand on finishing a couple of short stories in November.

    • Bryna

      I wouldn’t say it was a major failure. Reaching 50,000 words isn’t as impressive as the guts it takes to even attempt it.
      Working on some short stories sounds like a great idea! You’ll have to keep us updated with your progress on your blog. :)

Leave a Reply

