Dreaming of Being Published…

Yet again my novel is in the hands of my trusty number one editor: my husband. Hopefully my tired eyes haven’t missed anything, and I can finally pass the draft along to my little circle of reviewers. (If it needs more work, I think I might cry. Aren’t fifteen years enough?)

While the thought of feedback is reinvigorating, the truth is that the journey won’t be over yet even if everyone absolutely loves the novel and I am satisfied–if that’s possible. It will still be unpublished.

There are two ways to solve that problem: woo a publisher or publish it myself.

Several friends and family members have gone the self-publishing route. From what I understand, there are fewer hurdles to leap between submitting a manuscript and having a hard covered book on your shelf. At least one company is even associated with Amazon, making it easier (I suppose) for people other than my friends and family to purchase their own copy.

However, I’m leery of defaulting to that path. After fifteen years of work, I don’t want to sell myself short. Perhaps I could get a break. Perhaps some publisher out there will adore the novel and be intrigued by its unique elements. And for that reason, I don’t want to give up without even trying, even though it is the more difficult path.

Of course, it probably is still early to think about. After all, I don’t think my husband is past the second chapter yet, and there’s still a long way to go…

9 responses to “Dreaming of Being Published…

  • Colleen

    You know, you don’t have to be “finished” to start submitting to publishers. Many times they just want an outline or a first chapter or a small portion to get the ball rolling. You should start your “wooing” now!!!!

    • Bryna

      That’s true. Once he’s done reading and I have a certified copy in the safe (neurotic maybe, but it makes me feel better), I’ll start looking. At this point, it doesn’t look like there will be any more major changes… I hope. :)

  • C.B. Wentworth

    Self-publishing is a great route, but its also worth a shot to woo a publisher. There’s nothing to lose by trying! :-)

  • Bonnie

    Oh, Bryna! My heart is with you – I know exactly how you feel! I am wanting to try the publishing companies first as well, before I consider self publishing. It’s very daunting, all the hurdles and hard work and patience, but we’ll never know if we don’t try, right? Good luck to you! You deserve it – you are my hero! 15 years… you inspire me to keep at it. ;) Lovely post!!

    • Bryna

      You’re right. We’ll never know if we don’t try. And you never know. We might be the ones to make it. : ) I have to admit, fifteen years means I was shy of ten when the first words of the story were penned, so it deserved to be reworked by an older me. Though sometimes frustrating, it’s been worth the extra perserverance–especially if you ever saw the original story… or the version from high school…. : )

  • Anthony Lee Collins

    If you do decide to self-pub, let me know. I can give some advice. None on self-promotion (to be clear, i know nothing about that), but on choosing a company and preparing the manuscript and so on. But if you think you want to go the traditional route, I really encourage you to give it a try. If you don’t make it, at least you won’t feel bad later for not trying.

Leave a Reply

