Hello, 2012!

Hope you all had a Merry Christmas and a wonderful start to the new year!

I’m not the type of person who typically makes a list of resolutions at the beginning of every year, but this year I’ve been inspired to make a list of goals for my writing. (Thanks, C.B. Wentworth!) Perhaps the peer pressure will help me accomplish them in a more timely manner.

1. Get the first novel ready to go.
You know, let some family and friends review it, make any necessary changes (hopefully, they will be few!), research the publishing process, and prepare a query letter.

2. Finish the draft of the second novel — and make sure that the dates align with the first novel like they should.

3. Write at least a rough draft of the short story I’ve been pondering for the last two years.
I have some more research to do before I can begin. Some of it, I can do alone. For the rest, I need to build up the nerve to ask for some interviews… which is not a comfortable thought for an introvert like me.

4. Submit at least one of my creations for a contest, literary magazine, etc.
It’s good practice and might have some encouraging results.

5. Blog more regularly.
It’s good practice and a great way to keep connected with the wonderful people I’ve met in the blogosphere.

Do you typically set goals at the beginning of each year? What are your current goals?

5 responses to “Hello, 2012!

Leave a Reply

