How Pinterest Saved NaNoWriMo

The good news: I just barely finished NaNoWriMo, but I slipped in with 50,111 words and have one of the roughest drafts I’ve ever written, but a new world has been born.

The bad news: It’s taken a week and five different attempts to write this post! Every time I sit down, I get interrupted. But, today is the day. Finally!

On November 1, I didn’t really know where the story was going, who the characters were, or if the venture truly would work out. While everything has turned out well enough in the end to allow the ideas to percolate in the back of my mind until it’s time to play with this story again, creating a new world isn’t the easiest task in the world. It seems like you never remember just how hard it is when you haven’t done it for a while. Even if you have a story idea, you then have to consider the culture of the people, the geography of the world they live in, how each society interacts, etc., and how each of these factors affect your characters and their world. And when a world is only a week old and all you know is that it’s sort of fantasy-ish with an unusually high dosage of steampunk, it makes it even harder to just dive in and begin writing.

That’s where social networking saved the day. I’m one of the many on Pinterest. While I do collect pictures of inspirational places to tickle my imagination occasionally (or find pictures that say, “Stop piddling and work on your novel”), I hadn’t really used any of those pictures for anything that I was currently working on.

So halfway through the month, I wondered why not use Pinterest to gather some inspirational pictures that relate to my world? So, I did. After making a new board especially for the novel, I searched for anything already on Pinterest and on the Internet that looked even remotely like what I thought belonged in the world that was slowly shaping itself. After a couple of days, I had a collection of twenty-some pictures and a better idea of what the world and the people in it looked like. It’s amazing how much having images helped. Too bad the idea came on November 18th instead of November 1st. However, maybe it’s been mentioned early enough to help you with your next story writing venture.

Here are a few of the pictures that have inspired my crazy NaNoWriMo novel:

Steampunk Clothes

I love the details on this outfit. It might be “steampunk,” but this idea might creep into my board of clothes I need to make…

Steampunk knight

When I saw this picture, I decided that maybe my husband’s steampunk challenge wasn’t so crazy after all.

Steampunk R2D2

Yes, it is R2D2.

4 responses to “How Pinterest Saved NaNoWriMo

  • Anthony Lee Collins

    That’s great. It’s always great how different everybody’s methods are. I’m not very visual (other than movies), so Pinterest wouldn’t do much for me. On the other hand, I’m really getting into Moonrise Kingdom (as I talk about on my blog) and I’m getting a lot of inspiraion from that.

    • Bryna

      Moonrise Kingdom sounds fascinating! I’ve never heard about it before now, but after reading your descriptions of it, I want to check it out. There’s nothing like a good movie for inspiration. : )

  • C.B. Wentworth

    Pinterest has served as my muse as well. I love how just a few minutes of pinning can send my imagination into overdrive!

    Your chosen images are very interesting and they make me want to know more about your story. :-)

    • Bryna

      The crazy premise was, essentially, what would happen if a fantasy world advanced into the era of space travel. I’m still not exactly sure where the story itself will land in the end, but the world that started forming in November is unlike anything I’ve ever imagined before. It took almost all month to be able to utter the words “dwarves” and “space” in the same sentence without laughing. : )

Leave a Reply

