Dydd Gwŷl Dewi Sant Hapus!

… which (should) mean “Happy St. David’s Day!” in Welsh.

Happy St. David's Day

My rendition of the Welsh dragon. He guarded the whiteboard at school today.

While I don’t know the language, Welsh is a part of my widely mixed heritage (and my name’s language of origin), and I love to celebrate it on St. David’s Day.

I started the day by making a “daffodil” and a “leek” since they are the traditional tokens to sport for the occasion. Below are some directions on how to make them (or any other flower that you want) out of ribbon.

Then, since the dragon on the whiteboard incited questions, I explained a little bit about the holiday that commemorates the patron saint of Wales.

Tonight, a casserole filled with leeks and rarebit are on the menu. If you’ve never tried rarebit, you should. Melted cheese, cayenne pepper, Worchester sauce, spicy mustard, cream… and all on bread. It’s heavenly.

But now, for how to make daffodils, “leeks,” and other flowers out of ribbon:

First, find a piece of ribbon. The longer the ribbon, the larger and more full your flower.

Next, take a threaded needle and weave it up and down on the bottom of the ribbon, like so:

Making Daffodils

The size of the stitches doesn’t really matter. Roughly 1/4th inch should do the trick.

Once you’ve done this to the entire bottom of the ribbon, gently pull on the thread. This will draw the ribbon together, making a ball of ruffles. Pull the thread nice and tight, then put a few stitches through the center to keep the ruffles in place.

And voila!

Here’s the “daffodil” that I gave to my mom.

Daffodil

And my “leek” (that in no way resembles a real leek besides the fact that it’s green. I dubbed it a leek after I realized that the ribbon wasn’t actually yellow… which I didn’t notice in the dark closet this morning).

The "Leek"

Need to fasten it in a hurry? Use a safety pin!

Daffodil with a pin

Enjoy St. David’s Day! And try not to eat too much rarebit. : )

One response to “Dydd Gwŷl Dewi Sant Hapus!

Leave a Reply

