The Writer’s Guide to Fashion

Writing is like many things. A relationship, a dance, life… and fashion.

In my teens, I never cared much about how I looked. (Why would I when my closest friends were boys, my super sensitive skin was at its peak with acne, and the guy I liked — aka, my husband — thought I was beautiful anyways?) But as I grew older, I gained a new appreciation for fashion and, with my mom’s help, decided to develop my own style. One that embodies my quirkiness and interests and that embraces the occasional trend… and that is almost exclusively clearance rack/resale store finds and hand-me-downs from my mom.

Then, one evening as I picked out clothes for school the next day, I realized that my appreciation for my own style isn’t just about clothes. It also reflects my philosophy on writing.

So, from the past two weeks, a succinct idea of my philosophy on writing and fashion (with pictures of clothes I actually wore)…

Learn from the classics. (They’re classics for a reason.)

Classics: pearl necklace, button-up shirt, Oxford heels

Classics: pearl necklace, button-up shirt, Oxford heels

Layers add complexity and interest.

Layers: boxy jacket over belted charcoal striped sweater over purple tank

Layers: boxy jacket over belted charcoal striped sweater over purple tank

Pair up the unexpected for a new twist.

Unexpected: military-style jacket over flowy, feminine dress (and my favorite boots ever!)

Unexpected: military jacket over flowy, feminine dress (and my favorite boots ever!)

Try new things.

New: orange stripped shirt apparently goes surprisingly well with navy(This was my St. David's Day outfit with my "leek")

New: orange stripped shirt apparently goes surprisingly well with navy
(This was my St. David’s Day outfit with my “leek”)

Be bold.

Bold: slightly oversized purple sweater and turquoise pants

Bold: slightly oversized purple sweater and turquoise pants (and the most color I wear at one time)

Be confident. (If you don’t believe in it, who will?)

Confident: bomber jacket, my favorite color, and low heelsReady to conquer the world

Confident: bomber jacket, my favorite color, low heels, and my ever-present Triforce necklace peeking out
(Ready to conquer the world.. or the school parent meeting)

Be yourself. (And don’t be ashamed of it.)

Myself: comfy maiden skirt and my EvenstarA little medieval without going too far

Myself: comfy “princess” skirt and my Evenstar
(A little medieval without going too far)

How does something else in your life reflect your writing philosophy?

6 responses to “The Writer’s Guide to Fashion

Leave a Reply

