Better Late Than Never

Last year (goodness, has it been that long already?), I created a list of writing goals for 2012. And, at the end of 2012, I found that I had failed miserably at all of them. My first novel still wasn’t quite ready for other eyes, my second novel… well, let’s just say it’s been nearly impossible to get past chapter 3, and blogging regularly… rather not talk about that.

But today, I am finally able to check one of those goals off of last year’s list:

3. Write at least a rough draft of the short story I’ve been pondering for the last two years.
I have some more research to do before I can begin. Some of it, I can do alone. For the rest, I need to build up the nerve to ask for some interviews… which is not a comfortable thought for an introvert like me.

This short story hasn’t been an easy undertaking. Besides flirting with historical fiction back in elementary and middle school (when I wanted to write the next American Girl’s series about the Oregon Trail and had a special affinity for 1800’s Florida), I’ve always favored more of the fantasy and sci-fi realm. It’s easier (to me): study up on some fascinating cultures, mix some of them together, borrow some ideas from mythologies, and voilà! A world to set the characters in. No need to worry about messing up historical facts.

But this story got under my skin. He’s one of the most notorious men in history, but there’s so little information about him. It’s literally taken two years to conduct enough research about the culture and politics of the period, glean all of the information possible from the sources available, and do enough serious pondering to start writing. And in the past year, since the first words made their way into a Word document, there’s been even more research and pondering.

Fortunately, though, there’s also been plenty of writing during that time. And it’s finally paid off. This afternoon, I officially finished the first rough draft. It’s been a long time coming, but the 13,111 word draft is now saved and ready to start its editing debut. Once that’s done, it’s over to my husband and then off to some readers. Where to from there? I don’t know. But I think it’s future is bright.

5 responses to “Better Late Than Never

Leave a Reply

