For Boring Days…

Food has always been an adventure.

Most of the people that I know have gone through that picky eater stage. I probably did when I was very young, but if I did, it was very short. I guess it’s hard to stay picky for long when your mom is willing to try anything at least once (buffalo or snake, anyone?) and your grandmother is a first generation Italian immigrant. (I never realized that calamari was exotic because we always had it fried or in spaghetti sauce on Christmas Eve.)

But food sometimes gets boring when you make it pretty much every night at home. That’s the problem that I had earlier this week. The pork chops defrosting in the sink couldn’t make it to the grill because, 1. it was too humid to stand outside with 400 degrees of radiating heat, and 2. I haven’t spent enough time learning how to use the grill and therefore don’t unless my husband (aka, the grill master) is home.

So, I stood with the fridge open and stared at the random things there. Like the cooked corn from a party at our house… four leftover ears of it that I knew I had to cook into something but didn’t know what. And then inspiration struck.

Allow me to introduce you to what we’ve named southwest pork chops.

This week's culinary creation

This week’s culinary creation

And here’s the easiest way to whip it up.

All you need:

  • Pork chops
  • Canned tomatoes with green chilies (or canned tomatoes and canned green chilies, or fresh tomatoes and fresh green chilies…)
  • Corn, already off the cob (or out of the can or the freezer)
  • Fresh parsley (if you have any), chopped up
  • Garlic
  • A dash of chili powder
  • A dash of cayenne pepper
  • A dash of cumin

First, cook the pork chops in the pan on medium-high heat. Give it about 15 minutes, flipping it every 5 or so minutes.

Once the pork is cooked, add spices, garlic, and parsley. Pour the tomatoes and chilies over top so that the spices end up everywhere. Throw in the corn. (It adds a great sweetness!) You may also want to put in a cup of water, so that you have some juices in the end.

Let it simmer until the tomatoes, corn, and juices are warm, and you’re done.

It’s great with rice and black beans. If you give it a shot, let me know how it goes.

Happy weekend!

2 responses to “For Boring Days…

Leave a Reply

