Creative Writing Time!

It’s been a busy week and a half! School is officially back in session again. It’s a bittersweet thing. The summer seems to have flown by, but I’m excited to be with my middle schoolers again.

One of the best parts of this school year is my creative writing class (aka, the NaNoWriMo class with a sprinkling of poetry and shorter stories but mostly novels).

It is all that I imagined it would be. A small group of mostly introverted people (including me) who love writing and whose occasional off-topic conversations are all about books. One of the girls even knows how to speak a little Sindarin Elvish. (And this is what people will one day be able to say of my children as well.) Could it be any more perfect?

But one of the best parts of this course is that it gives me a great excuse to/forces me to write. After all, how can I possibly expect the students to write a novel without writing one myself?

So, later this year, I shall say hello to the second draft of series novel 3. Its sad attempt two years ago for NaNoWriMo… well, let’s just say it was much too hard to get to 50,000 words, and not that much happened in the end. But after some pondering and musing, it’s going to look very different than that first draft. Which is good, because I’m ready for something different.

Do you ever need a good excuse to write?

Leave a Reply

