That First Kiss of Autumn

I live in a part of the world that doesn’t truly have an autumn. At least, not in the traditional sense.

“Cool” means  we reach the 70’s (and if it dips below 70, it’s time to pull out the long sleeves, socks, and boots… well, besides some of the stubborn ones who never give up the flip flops). The only leaves that change are on trees native to more northerly parts of the country that don’t understand that the leaf dropping process isn’t necessary. When the leaves do fall, it’s in the spring, as the new growth pushes off the old.

A changing tree amid the evergreens
A changing tree amid the evergreens

But that doesn’t mean that we don’t constantly wait for the endless summer to cool into a more golden part of the year.

September is the month when the change finally begins. Sure, it starts with the return pumpkin spice lattes, but there’s also a subtle change. First, the humidity-incited haziness begins to fade, starting at the sky’s zenith then slowly inching down to the horizon. Then, the early morning and evening are accompanied by the occasional but unmistakable cool breeze. Finally, the afternoons take on a golden hue.

That change is finally beginning. It’s like a breath of fresh air after a long, hot summer. And, like every year, it stirs something deep inside of me. The first time that I read The Lord of the Rings, I remember a mention that Bilbo and Frodo always felt more drawn to adventures during the autumn. I feel that too. I want to slip away on some adventure…

What’s your favorite time of year?

6 thoughts on “That First Kiss of Autumn

  1. I love autumn, as well, though there specifics of every season that I love. But autumn has the MOST things I love – giant comfy sweaters, bonfires, pumpkins, apples, toasted marshmallows…

    However, it’s still green and HOT here – still in the 90s each day for highs, though the mornings are starting to dip consistently into the 60s. I can’t wait for October.

    1. I would imagine so! I’ve only had the pleasure of going out West once, but those 100+ temperatures are impossible to forget. It’s mostly the humidity that murders us down here. A walk is more like a swim most of the year. : )

    1. Figured you would appreciate it. ;) Not as poetic as your post on autumn, but it’s an irresistible topic this time of year. The sky is such a beautiful blue right now that I want to pretend it’s not 90 out there.

Leave a comment