Fall Garden Time

I’ve often been told that I’m like a hobbit. Maybe it’s my height or my largish feet or that I eat 5-6 small meals a day (and call them second breakfast, elevensies, and afternoon tea…). Or maybe it’s because I love peace and quiet and good tilled earth.

I suppose that I feel most hobbittish on weekends like this, when we plant a fresh garden. In my part of the world, nothing grows in the middle of summer (and thank God because it’s blisteringly hot and suffocatingly humid), but we do have a second shot at planting once the heat of summer finally begins to subside.

This weekend was it. We bought plants, seeds, fresh Miracle Grow dirt, and some timbers for this year’s expansion.

Here’s the results of our work so far:

Love the smell of freshly tilled dirt and new plants

Love the smell of freshly tilled dirt and new plants

The same three-year-old rosemary plant anchors the edge of the original garden. Some cherry tomato plants and radishes share its box.

In the new box, there’s two bell pepper plants, cucumbers, and green beans. They’re all new ventures (or ones that have never succeeded before), so we’ll see how that goes…

Do you enjoy gardening? Planning to plant anything this fall?

2 responses to “Fall Garden Time

  • C.B. Wentworth

    We are debating whether we are going to do a fall garden. Part of me really wants to try, while the rest of me is exhausted from all the work of the summer garden! We’ll see – there’s still plenty of time to decide. :-)

    Your garden looks great! Give those cucumbers plenty of room. Once they get going, they’ll take over everything. :-)

    • Bryna

      I always love the pictures of your garden. The veggies always turn out beautifully!

      Thanks for the tip! This week, I have to do the hard task of pulling out some of those cucumber seedlings. Since they’re from seeds, some are a little too close together… : )

Leave a Reply

