Writer’s Obsession: Music

There are a few things that make writing on demand possible. A warm drink (preferably Darjeeling or some freshly brewed, strong coffee with cream), a slightly distracting environment, and some instrumental music.

Actually, at this point in my life, the vast majority of the music that I listen to is instrumental. Whether it’s the soundtrack of a movie or a video game or just classical music, it’s right up my alley. I’m not sure if it’s because there’s something soothing about stringed instruments or whether those horns bring out my adventurous side. Whatever it is, though, I listen to it everywhere, especially while writing.

One of my newest favorites is The Piano Guys. My mom introduced me to them because they had two Lord of the Rings-related songs. (Yes, we are that predictable…) Then she bought a several of their songs and we listened to them to and from the beach, and I fell in love.

I usually don’t listen to a whole album while writing since not all of the songs match the mood that I’m currently writing, but it’s hard not to listen to their two albums (on shuffle because I like the unpredictability) straight through.

Will they be my new best friends while working on this year’s NaNoWriMo novel? I’m honestly not sure. Usually I build playlists based off of mode and genre and then select my music based off of what I’m currently writing. Some of the songs could definitely fit the moods (though not necessarily the medieval-ish world). If nothing else, the tempo on ones like “Code Name Vivaldi” will probably inspire me to type faster.

What music do you typically listen to while writing?

6 responses to “Writer’s Obsession: Music

  • Anthony Lee Collins

    With me, the main thing is familiarity. I can only write to music I know really well. Otherwise I get distracted (I used to be a musician, so I start to analyze). This year, it’s mostly been Les Miserables. :-)

  • C.B. Wentworth

    I am so going to look up The Piano Guys. What perfect writing music – thanks for sharing! :-)

  • Rebekah Loper

    I’ve heard a few songs from the Piano Guys over the past year, they are pretty amazing!

    I listen to a mish-mash of things while writing – usually whatever sets the mood for the scene I’m working on. I used to only be able to write with instrumental music, and while there’s certainly still a good selection of instrumental in my playlists, I’ve been able to branch out to other styles as well.

    Within Temptation, Nightwish, and Linkin Park seem to show up on my lists a LOT.

    I can’t listen to movie soundtracks of movies I know well, though. Because then I end up playing the movie in my head instead of writing, hehe.

Leave a Reply

