The Great NaNoWriMo Countdown

 

1 day, 14 hours, and 33 minutes.

That’s all that I have left.

The good news is that I think I’m fairly well prepared.

I know more about my novel than I usually do when I start writing. (Ah, the spontaneous insanity of being a pantser. It’s so hard to plan…)

I rearranged the assignment schedule for my students, so I won’t have a mountain of grading during November.

I have a number of students who will keep me accountable and who have gleefully devised punishments I must face should I fall short of my goal on the 13th and the 25th, including but not limited to buying them lunch from Subway, dancing in the lunchroom, and dressing in school uniform and sitting in one of their classes. (For full disclosure, my stature has occasionally caused me to be mistaken for a student, which, of course, is hilarious since I’m almost ten years older than the oldest student.)

My husband has a couple new video games (and therefore will not feel neglected on evenings or Saturdays when I need to catch up).

And I have new music and a fresh supply of my tea (Taylors of Harrogate afternoon Darjeeling) and coffee at my disposal.

Can you tell that Amazon had a great deal?

Can you tell that Amazon had a great deal on a large pack?

Now to stop procrastinating long enough to finish my lesson plans for the rest of the fall semester before November arrives.

After all, I only have 1 day, 14 hours, and 33 minutes left.

Are you participating in NaNoWriMo (or a variation) this year? What are you doing to prepare (or what would you do to prepare if you were participating)?

8 responses to “The Great NaNoWriMo Countdown

Leave a Reply

