Photo of the Week: Scottish Heritage Time!

I love January. Not only is it the beginning of a fresh year, but it’s also time for the annual Scottish Highland Games. While I may be the product of many nationalities and cultures, Scotland has always had a special place in my heart.

Here are a few of my favorite highlights of Scottish culture from the Games:

Highland Cows

DSC_1421

Yes, he’s as soft and friendly as he looks

Food

Meat pie covered in HP sauce

Meat pie covered in HP sauce

The coveted deep fried Mars bar!

The coveted deep fried Mars bar! You have to come early to get one! It’s the perfect companion while listening to the Scottish bands.

Games

DSC_1375

One of the many traditional games that includes throwing something heavy

The caber toss! It's literally the length of a telephone pole.

The caber toss! It’s literally the length of a telephone pole. The goal is to flip it perfectly end over end. Needless to say, you don’t see a perfect “twelve o’clock” very often.

Family

My parents, my husband, and me enjoying the games.

My parents, my husband, and me enjoying the games

Have you ever been to the Scottish Highland Games in your area? Do you go to any other cultural events?

4 responses to “Photo of the Week: Scottish Heritage Time!

Leave a Reply

