Undercover Fairy Tales

Several years ago, I read a book called The Goose Girl. I can’t remember if someone had recommended it or if I stumbled across it in the library. What I do remember is that it was absolutely charming and I spent most of the time reading it out in the sun because it was early summer and the weather was still lovely (well, to those of us used to the heat).

Needless to say, I was absolutely surprised when I was scanning through a list of Hans Christian Andersen’s fairy tales last week and found “The Goose Girl” among the titles. According to the fairy tale’s synopsis, both the original and the book by Shannon Hale are far more similar than some fairy tales and their retellings (like Beauty and the Beast, The Little Mermaid, or The Snow Queen). It’s a delightful surprise to see that the story still translates so well, especially when expanded into a novel.

I was also glad that I discovered that the fairy tale had been told before after reading the novel. I enjoyed the suspense (even though I did feel rather certain that I knew what would happen), and it would have been a pity to accidentally come across the ending.

Do you have a favorite fairy tale?

2 responses to “Undercover Fairy Tales

Leave a Reply

