Confession of a Pantser

According to a NaNoWriMo blog I read a few years ago, writers basically break into two groups: planners and pantsers. Planners are organized, believe in outlines (though with varying degrees of flexibility), and usually can keep their characters in order. Pantsers, on the other hand, live up to their name and fly by the seat of their pants, going where the wind takes them.

I’m a chronic pantser. These are my confessions.

  • As a child, I never created any sort of plan. I just opened up a blank notebook and started writing. Because there’s no going back in a notebook (even if it is with pencil), whatever happened, happened.
  • Now, usually stories start with a vague plan. Usually.
  • Plans are always subject to change.
  • Decision are often made on a whim. (Sometimes this is a great thing, sometimes not so much.)
  • Pro: characters “make” their own decisions and influence the plot.
  • Con: characters “make” their own decisions and influence the plot.
  • Sometimes I think it would be fun to be able to plan out a story in more detail, and I have actually tried. But then I start writing and the characters take over, or my phlegmatic tendencies talk me out of it because it’s more fun to be spontaneous.
  • Routine kills me. Even in writing.

Are you a planner or a pantser? What are your writing confessions?

11 responses to “Confession of a Pantser

Leave a Reply

