#ToAFutureWriter Campaign

When I was 18, I wrote a note to my 40-year-old future self. I remember little of what I wrote (though I don’t know where the note is now — I suppose that’s what happens when you hide it in a writing journal and then take that journal for your Creative Writing students to read and then, upon them discovering it, hide it in the pile of papers on your desk). What I do remember, though, is asking about three things my teenage self wanted most out of life: marrying my middle school sweetheart, having a few kids, and becoming a published author.

I would be pleased to tell my past self that the first goal has been achieved and that we’re still very happily married seven years later. It’s not quite as easy as my 18-year-old self thought it would be, but it’s more rewarding than she ever would have imagined.

The second hasn’t come together yet, but we’re hopeful.

And the third hasn’t been fulfilled after 10-ish years, but I’m getting there. I’m definitely closer than I’ve ever been before, and I finally feel like I have the skills and confidence I need (thanks, in part, to you : ) ).

This whole thing came to mind after reading an upcoming event that NaNoWriMo is inviting all writers to participate in: taking social media by storm with the hashtag #ToAFutureWriter on June 12th.

The point? To write a note to your future self or to someone you know who has a story to tell. There are also instructions on how to participate in an online time capsule of inspiration that NaNoWriMo will publicize during what they call “NaNoWriMo season,” which probably translates to October and November.

Want to learn more or participate? Click here.

Speaking of social media, my writerly self is on Facebook now! Hope to see you there!

If you were to write a quick note to your future self, what would you say?

14 responses to “#ToAFutureWriter Campaign

  • directorb

    Great post!

  • Rebekah Loper

    I wrote letters to myself when I was a teenager, too. I had several different letters for different milestones. Some of those milestones I never reached (like graduating college) and some I did (like getting married). I’m not sure where all the letters ended up, though. I’ve moved three times since I wrote them, and I think some of them have gotten lost along the way.

    I will definitely be participating on Thursday. Anything for NaNo! :D

    Just so you know, your ‘learn more or participate’ link goes back to your previous post. I was very confused as to why I was back at your blog after clicking it.

    • S.B. Roberts

      It’s hard to keep track of those sorts of things. (Still no luck with mine. Where did I put it?)

      Thanks for letting me know about the link! Hopefully it’s right now. :)

  • cindygrigg

    I think I would write to myself to remember how hard I’m working now. Something tells me I may be tempted to get lazy. :) But also I would tell myself that if I haven’t realized external success from my writing goals, that I’m still proud of myself for sticking with it and working as hard as I can.

    • S.B. Roberts

      Great reminders! Staying proud of ourselves, even if we don’t meet the kind of success we hoped for in the timeframe we hoped for, is one of the best things we can do. :)

  • C.B. Wentworth

    Lovely, uplifting post. :-)

    If I could write a note to my future self …. never, ever give up on what you love no matter what it is and stop eating so much chocolate. ;-)

  • C.B. Wentworth

    Hi,

    I’ve been tagged in a Writing Process Blog Hop and as part of the process, I need to tag three other bloggers. I thought of you because I think you can offer a really great perspective.

    It’s an easy process – All you have to do is answer these four questions and nominate three other bloggers.

    1) What am I working on?
    2) How does my work differ from others of its genre?
    3) Why do I write what I do?
    4) How does my writing process work?

    Let me know if you’re game, so I can post a short bio and link to your blog.

    :-)

  • homedreamer07

    You’ll be published, no doubt. I’m so glad your first goal came true. Here’s to the other two unfolding as well:)
    And thanks for the heads up about tomorrow, I’ve got to check it out!

Leave a Reply

