Writing Process Blog Hop

Back in June, C.B. Wentworth invited me to be a part of the Writing Process Blog Hop. Just as I was finally getting ready to write the post, I also received an invite from Kristen Fairgrieve. Needless to say, I’m honored to be asked to join in by two different people.

Before I get into that, though, a little about the two awesome ladies who’ve already written about their creative processes:

C.B. Wentworth is a YA author and talented poet. When she’s not writing, she’s teaching high school at her day job, tending her garden with the help of her cute garden rabbit, or knitting up a storm. (You should see her socks!) Her blog is one of my favorites. She’s definitely an inspiration.

Kristen Fairgrieve is an editor and travel journal extraordinaire. Her blog features her beautiful scrapbook travel journals, many of which are available on Etsy. (They make me want to pack my bags right now.)

Now, on to the Hop’s four questions about my creative process and the next two to be tagged in the fun.

1. What am I working on?

Most of my writing time has been focused on the second novel in my pet project series — The Carrick Letters. Now that the first novel is finally where I want it, the second novel can fully explore what’s happening at the same time in another part of the world. It’s been slow going since the timing in this novel is everything, but that’s allowed me to get a better feel for the protagonist of this novel (who is distinctly different than her cousin, the narrator of the first novel) and the unique culture in her part of the world.

When I’m not in the world of Carrick, I’ve been working on short stories and small writing contests in hopes of getting my name out there. While I haven’t met with any success yet, I’ve been enjoying the opportunities to play with genres other than fantasy and stretch my writing skills.

2. How does my work differ from others of its genre?

One of the most notable differences is the storytelling style. The Carrick Letters are just that: letters written by the characters. So far, the first two novels have followed a very similar flow — the novel is comprised of a long letter written by one cousin to the other and includes bits of journals, legends, and other written works to supplement the story. Even though each novel so far is only told by one character, the style adds variety to the voice (and shows how much the characters and their perspectives change as they realize that they’re part of a much larger plot).

The other is the lack of typical mythical creatures. It’s not because I don’t like elves, dwarves, fairies, and mermaids. I love them. But I tried them out, and they just felt out of place in Carrick. But that’s okay. The first draft of an unrelated novel might one day make up for that…

3. Why do I write what I do?

Ever since I was very young, fairy tales and fantasy have dominated my imagination. And the older I grew, the more I loved fantasy. It awakens something in me: something that loves to be brave and heroic, that loves to explore new worlds, that sees the bigger picture beyond my chapter in the great Epic around me.

After reading The Lord of the Rings for the first time, it just clicked. That’s what I primarily want to write. I want to create worlds, orchestrate epics, maybe even develop a language. And that’s been the focus of the novels I’ve written ever since.

4. How does my writing process work?

Often times, it starts with a rogue question or musing that tickles my fancy. For instance, the second novel in The Carrick Letters came about when I wondered, “So, who is this cousin Shaelynn’s been writing to, and what’s been happening in her part of the world?”

After I write the initial idea down, it sits and brews for a while, like a good cup of tea. It can steep anywhere from a few days to a few years before I’m ready to start putting the idea into full sentences. Once I do, it gets its own journal (or a spot in one) for notes and I just start typing. The first draft is almost always an ugly mess as I “pants” my way through it, but by the end of it, I know the characters and where the story is headed.

Now for the next bloggers to join in the fun!

Cindy Grigg -a writer of fiction and nonfiction. Her love of technology not only influences her nonfiction but also plays a huge role in the speculative fiction she writes.

My other blogger hasn’t replied yet, but I’ll add her as soon as I hear back from her.

2 responses to “Writing Process Blog Hop

Leave a Reply

