Thanksgiving and Old Books

Hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving! A short week so close to the end of the semester means tons of grading to do, and unfortunately, the paying job comes first. The good news, though: I’m back and plan on the usual posting schedule this week, and my writing buddy is here to help.

Only ten weeks old, but he always wants to help.
Only ten weeks old, but he always wants to help.

Around this time of year, my parents, brother, husband, and I always go on some adventure. Last year, it was Christmas lights and dinner in another part of the state. This year, we visited an old bookstore a few hours away. There’s nothing like squeezing into the car with them. (And it’s much more peaceful to be in such close quarters with my brother now that we’re adults.)

The winding bookstore was filled with shelves and shelves of books. Some were new, but we skipped over them in favor of the old. In one section, cases housed very old and autographed books. (I only drooled a little.) Everywhere else, fairly new books sat beside ones from the early 1900’s. Those are the ones I was most excited for. I love antiques, and antique books are a special treasure.

Though there were plenty that I would have gladly snatched up, I brought home these three.

Rudyard Kipling, O. Henry, and Lew Wallace
Rudyard Kipling, O. Henry, and Lew Wallace

Each is over a hundred years old, all from the very early 1900’s. And while I have no plans to drag them along to the gym to read on the treadmill, I do plan to savor them in my library with a large cup of Darjeeling.

Do you collect old books or other antiques? Have you come across any great finds lately?