Two Endings

The time between Thanksgiving and Christmas are always a whirlwind. Christmas cookies to bake, papers to grade, preparations to finish. But at least the school and baking parts are finally over now, so I have time to sit and write again. (I don’t dare mention how far I am from my November editing goal. Of course, I guess halfway isn’t that bad, all things considered.)

So now that the semester has ended, there’s one more ending coming up. The Hobbit: The Battle of Five Armies. It may have been out since Wednesday, but tomorrow is when I’ll finally get around to it. I’m excited to watch the battle come to life (and I already have tissues ready). To prepare, I watched the previous two installments. After all, I have to get the kitten caught up.

The kitten likes Bilbo the best!

The kitten likes Bilbo the best!

Oh, and here’s hoping for the usual Silmarillion Recap next week. It’s certainly on the agenda. :)

Have you watched The Battle of Five Armies yet? Plan on watching it?

4 responses to “Two Endings

  • C.B. Wentworth

    I hope you enjoy the movie! I haven’t seen it yet, but maybe after I get done baking cookies and making fudge! :-)

  • Anthony Lee Collins

    I was a big fan of the Lord of the Rings movies (The Two Towers is my favorite). My then-girlfriend and I used to see them on New Year’s Day every year.

    So, I was excited about The Hobbit (though The Hobbit is not Lord of the Rings), but then I was dubious about it being split into two. When it was announced that it would be three, the air just went out of my enthusiasm. It really began to feel like Jackson & Co., not having had tremendous success with other projects, decided to return to Middle-Earth and milk it for all it was worth.

    I didn’t see the first Hobbit movie (the reviews helped me to ignore it). I saw the second on DVD (“kick-ass female elf” was intriguing — “kick-ass female elf in a pointless romantic triangle” less so). It was okay. I liked the part with the barrels. I’ll probably see the new one on DVD at some point. The reviews make it sound like battle-battle-battle, and Jacson’s battles aren’t that great. His genius is for the quiet moments before battle, during battle, and immediately after battle.

    • S.B. Roberts

      I had the same concern about The Hobbit when I found out it would be split into three. I still think two would have been the magic number, even if they were 3+ hours. I think it would have tightened up some of the pacing, since watching all three over the course of the week, I realized just how much the first one particularly drags. There are certainly things that I would do differently (especially the love triangle), but it has been fun overall. :)

      The last one is almost all battle and it does have those amazing moments that you mentioned. Since Legolas is in it, he lives up to his usual moments, too. Ridiculous, but always fun. I’m looking forward to an extended edition scene that includes some more of the aftermath, especially pertaining to Thorin. But Bilbo’s reaction was spot on. Martin Freeman definitely makes a great Bilbo. :) Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it when you see it. :)

Leave a Reply

