Spending Time with My Writing Buddy (Who Purrs)

Even though the kitten has only lived with us since the end of October, it’s hard to remember life without him. He doesn’t purr constantly anymore, but he does when he snuggles us in the morning, when I pick him up, when he sits on the back of the couch behind me, and when he plays with his toys. He fits perfectly with us.

Whenever I leave the computer to do some writing by hand, he likes to “help.”

He loves to play with my favorite Sharpie pens while I write.

He loves to play with my favorite Sharpie pens while I write.

Other times, he just likes to listen to me read aloud.

Sometimes he helps me grade my students' papers. He loves literary analysis.

Sometimes he helps me grade my students’ papers. He loves literary analysis.

He often joins me in daydreaming.

He loves listening to the world outside (even if it's too cold to open the windows).

He loves listening to the world outside (even if it’s too cold to open the windows).

And that one time during Spirit Week at school, he even helped me with my costume.

If Jane Austen didn't actually have a cat, don't tell him that.

If Jane Austen didn’t actually have a cat, don’t tell him that.

But the best is when he sits on my lap while I write or grade papers. While it’s hard to capture a picture of that, believe me, it’s just as cute as it sounds.

Do you have a writing buddy?

6 responses to “Spending Time with My Writing Buddy (Who Purrs)

Leave a Reply

