Je vais enseigner la français

Ever have that moment when someone suddenly realizes something that they have known about you for a long time? I did a few months ago, and it marked the start of a crazy adventure.

In college, I took two years of French. I suppose I chose it partly because of my French heritage and partly because my mom had taken it when she was in school (which means I had grown up with random French phrases interwoven into daily conversation). However, as soon as I started studying it, I fell in love with the language. If I could have spared an extra year of college, I would have minored in it. And if I could have spared more time and money and had realized it earlier, I might have even double majored. I truly love it that much.

Needless to say, French is still interwoven into daily conversation, and my mom and I frequently converse in snatches of it wherever we are. Including at the school where we both teach. The upper school administrator has heard us from time to time over the past few years, but it wasn’t until earlier this school year that it dawned on her that I spoke French. And with a proposal, the adventure began.

Next school year, I’ll add high school French to my teaching schedule. I’m so excited.

In preparation, I’ve been bathing my brain in French again. I read the Bible in it. I do daily language exercises. I watch movies I know well in it. (Monster’s Inc., anyone?) And I have some favorite books in it as well.

The Lord of the Rings: Return of the King

The Lord of the Rings: Return of the King, of course!

Green Eggs and Ham  One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish

Green Eggs and Ham
and
One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish

Needless to say, it’s going to be fun!

6 responses to “Je vais enseigner la français

Leave a Reply

