My Desk Buddies

During the past two months, things at school have been crazy. Part of the time, it’s just been the sheer amount of work that comes with grading so many student papers. Other times, it’s been technical problems that need my attention because I’m part teacher, part member of the tech team.

Between all of that and still trying to finish the draft of my second novel (which has gotten further in the plot than I’ve been since high school), I end up spending quite a bit of time at my computer.

Sometimes the kitten sits on the back of the chair or on my lap, but even when he’s found a window to stare out of instead, I have some buddies to keep me company.

Some of the figures were given to me, some to my husband, but they all are always sitting here to keep me company.

The Yoda Pez dispenser has been around forever. I don’t even know where it came from, and sometimes I forget it’s even there. The TARDIS and Dalek joined the party at Christmas. My mom (a huge Whovian) gave them to us. It feels a little inappropriate for them to sit right next to each other, but maybe the Dalek is really Oswin Oswald.

Link (from The Legend of Zelda) showed up at Christmas too. Before you get the wrong idea, we’re not big Amiibo collectors. The only reason we have any of them is because they are figurines and we really like the characters. We haven’t even bothered to connect or scan or do whatever you do with them and the Wii U. (Seriously, who came up with that name again?)

Zelda, Sheik, and Toon Link (aka, the Link from Wind Waker) are the newest additions. Since my husband and I both really like Zelda, he decided he wanted to finish the collection.

While I don’t talk to them (I’m too much of an introvert for that sort of thing), it’s great to have some familiar faces nearby and something to look at besides my computer screen, papers, or my calendar.

Do you have any buddies on your desk?

4 responses to “My Desk Buddies

Leave a Reply

