Remembering Sir Christopher Lee

Yesterday, I heard the sad news that Sir Christopher Lee passed away. So it seemed apropos to reflect on his life. After all, from being a British commando during WWII to being an actor to singing in a heavy metal band (yes, I’m serious), he had an incredible life.

My first exposure to his acting was probably in Shelley Duval’s Faerie Tale Theatre, a show I evidently watched obsessively when I was three or four. According to IMDB, he was in one of the many episodes, and while I can’t remember it off the top of my head, I’m sure that I saw it at least once.

But, of course, the first time I really noticed him was in The Lord of the Rings films, around the time that my fascination with Tolkien and his world began. While he undoubtedly played the best Saruman imaginable, he couldn’t have been a more perfect fit. Not only was he a huge fan Tolkien’s works himself, but he had actually met Tolkien. (Read more about that here.)

He was in a myriad of other movies since then, from Star Wars to Alice in Wonderland, but there are some lesser known projects that he was involved in as well that deserve a mention.

First, can you imagine a more incredible voice to read Edgar Allan Poe’s The Tell-Tale Heart”? It’s everything that you would hope for.

And one of my favorite discoveries (which I pull out every Christmas)…

5 responses to “Remembering Sir Christopher Lee

  • Anthony Lee Collins

    When I heard of his death, I thought for some reason of the movie Hugo. Chloe Moretz’s character takes Hugo to a bookstore, which is to her the most magical place in the universe, and we hear the bookseller’s voice before we see him, and it’s That Voice, and you know she’s right. I didn’t even know he was in the picture, so it was a particular pleasure.

    And there’s Alice in Wonderland, where Christopher Lee did the voice of the Jabberwocky. The Jabberwocky only has two lines of dialogue, but they’re very memorable. :-)

    • S.B. Roberts

      Yeah, his voice was absolutely incredible.

      You know, I still haven’t seen Hugo. A friend of mine told me about it, but I’d forgotten about it. I’ll have to see if it’s on Netflix… : )

      • Anthony Lee Collins

        Hugo is just wonderful. The more you love movies, the better it is. I had the great experience of seeing it with my mother, who was in her nineties and who remembered when movies were still a fairly new thing.

        It’s not perfect (Scorsese is many things, but he’s not a comedy director — the movie’s few attempts at slapstick are all duds), but well worth seeing.

  • Eric

    He also read the audio version of Children of Hurin. Nails it completely. Of course. :)

Leave a Reply

