Novel Update: Twinkle, Twinkle, Aderyn

Hard to believe it’s already another month. Of course, it’s also hard to believe that the school year is in full swing. Where did summer go, again?

While the actual writing has slowed over the last month thanks to planning and returning to classes, there still has been plenty of progress. The 10,668 words has increased to 15,208 words that seem to be flowing together beautifully. That’s been accompanied by some much-needed world building. Part of the story takes place in outer space, but I had failed to consider the fact that I had better figure out what that looks like. What types of ships are at their disposal? (Am I really talking about spaceships and fantasy tropes in the same breath? It delights and frightens me at the same time.) How long does it take to travel between celestial destinations? Or, most importantly lately, what does the sky look like for them?

Perigee Moon

Needless to say, constellations became an important matter, and one that made me sigh and mutter, “Duh!”

Right now, there are fifteen major constellations, each with their own story. Some are based on the developing theology and philosophy of the world. (There’s still a great deal to do on that front.) Others are a nod to other stories.

For instance, one of the constellations is the Cat: partly because its story is similar to Rudyard Kipling’s Rikki-Tikki-Tavi and partly in honor of the one who’s sitting on half of the chair as I type right now. (He prefers to sit pressed up against me instead of on the back of the chair now that he’s older.)

Another is Aderyn and Temman, a nod to Luthien and Beren from The Silmarillion. (If you don’t know about them, you have to check them out! She’s no damsel in distress, and he’s quite heroic himself.)

Since the story is still so young, these three (and the other twelve) might not make it into the final draft, but odds aren’t bad that they will. Even if they don’t, though, they’ve made for a great starting place, and a great mantra for the protagonist as she prepares to become a spaceship navigator.

Have you created anything new for your story’s world lately? Ever tried your hand at constellations?

9 responses to “Novel Update: Twinkle, Twinkle, Aderyn

  • Anthony Lee Collins

    Despite a childhood full of a lot of science fiction (reading, and some TV and movies), I never really tried to write any. I’m not sure why.

    Btw, if you’re doing faster-than-light travel, are you going to explain how it’s possible, or just glide on past the whole question? (I would probably do the latter, if I was in that position.)

    Btw, Heinlein made at least one reference to Rikki-Tikki-Tavi also. :-)

    • S.B. Roberts

      I’m not currently planning on ships quite that advanced, and it very well might stay that way because I don’t want to explain it, and I’ve already used up my “one thing” that I can ask readers to believe without a full explanation. As much as a I love sci-fi and always enjoyed science, I think I’d be very weak in explaining the science behind how thing work. We’re definitely leaning on more of the Star Wars, soft sci-fi side. : )

      That’s so cool! It’s been a long time since I’ve read the book or watch the movie, but Rikki-Tikki-Tavi deserves a shout out once in a while. :)

      • Anthony Lee Collins

        When I was young, I was a big Star Trek fan, and I bought a book called (something like) The Making of Star Trek, by Gene Roddenberry.

        One thing I always remember was that he said he drew a lot of inspiration from Westerns (at that point a much more established TV genre than science fiction). When a cowboy draws his six-shooter, he doesn’t explain how it works — he just shoots somebody. So, Captain Kirk doesn’t pause to explain how a phaser works, or what “warp” is (as a kid, I totally understood “warp = the part where they go really fast”), etc.

  • homedreamer07

    I am so intrigued by your world! Your creations inspire me. I really can’t wait to read about them one day.

  • homedreamer07

    *face palm* that should be “worlds”-constellations, better yet:)

  • homedreamer07

    Also, two more things: I am super impressed at the scope of your story, and equally impressed by your name creation skills. :)

    • S.B. Roberts

      :) I can’t wait for that too!

      I can’t take much credit for the name creations. I found a new site that’s been my best friend: behindthename.com. It’s easy to work through and includes a random name generator (with lots of options, like which cultural origins the names come from) that can be a huge help when you need some fresh inspiration. :)

  • C.B. Wentworth

    Of late I’ve been deciding where rogue muses live. :-) So far, I’m inspired by the colors and textures of Kartchner Caverns and Mammoth Cave – They are a nice contrast to the world I created for The Elder Muses.

Leave a Reply

