I Miss NaNoWriMo

It’s November again, and for a second year in a row, I’m not doing NaNoWriMo.

It’s not because I don’t want to. I have a draft that needs writing. That poor fantasy, sci-fi, steampunk novel hasn’t had much attention in the past month thanks to so many students in my English classes, administrative work, and developing French I while teaching it. There’s just not enough time to fit 1,667 words a day into the already jammed schedule.

For now. After all, I have ever intention of getting back into NaNoWriMo again. Maybe next year.

In the meantime, though, I miss it. November is here, and that itch to write is nagging my imagination. After feeling stuck in the doldrums of so much school work, I find myself daydreaming about the novel while doing yardwork or driving to and from school. That hasn’t happened in a while, just because my mind has been so preoccupied with so many other things. More urgent things.

There’s something special about the routine that comes with NaNoWriMo. That rhythm of writing 1,667 words every day. The discipline it takes to pace it out and write like a marathon instead of in sprints. I need that discipline again, especially because I feel like I don’t have enough time for it. Those are the times when you really need to push it, right?

So instead of participating in NaNoWriMo, I’ve decided to make a greater effort to spend quality time with my poor, forlorn novel. I’m not sure what that looks like yet, but at least it’s somewhere to start.

Do you have any special writing goals during November? Are you participating in NaNoWriMo?

8 responses to “I Miss NaNoWriMo

  • Kristen Fairgrieve

    I’m participating in 15mins NanoJouMo this November – writing in my journal for 15 minutes per day. If I write about my current project, that’s great. If not, at least it gets me writing! Whatever we can do is enough :)

  • Anthony Lee Collins

    I expect that, with some quality time, your novel will pretty quickly grow to look a lot less forlorn.

    No NaNo for me (as usual). I just finished a story (as you know :-) ), and now I think I may go back to the story I shelved when my mother died (a mother-daughter semi-reconciliation was a pretty major plot point). It might just be time to get going again…

  • homedreamer07

    Good for you. I signed up for a modified NaNo and have already missed the second day! Oh well, today is still young and I can probably make up for it. Then there’s the fact that I took a fresh look at my novel, found some giant holes that need work, and still haven’t hammered those out enough to actually work on writing my novel! But like you said, it’s something. That is nothing to sneeze at.

  • C.B. Wentworth

    Sounds like a great plan. Sometimes there truly isn’t enough time in a day! In the past I’ve used the “rhythm” of NaNoWriMo to edit my novel. I hope you get a chance to play with that novel of yours – a lot of us are anxious to read it. :-)

    • S.B. Roberts

      There really isn’t. Another batch of papers are coming in today, and somebody’s got to grade them.

      : ) That makes me even more anxious to finish it. At least, now that I’m older, it seems like I write better quality drafts the first time so it won’t be fifteen years without finishing this one. lol

Leave a Reply

