Happy Tolkien Reading Day!

Sorry it’s been two weeks since my last post. Mix one of the busiest parts of the school year with the flu, and the result is that barely anything gets done. But I’m back now.

Anyways, today is one of my favorite holidays: Tolkien Reading Day!

There are several things I love about the holiday, especially on years like this. First off, it’s an homage to one of my favorite authors. Even though I love many writers, Tolkien’s influence on my own writing is undeniable. It’s a great excuse to read at least a few pages of one of his works and wear some of the geeky Lord of the Rings paraphernalia that I own.

My favorite excerpt to read (especially on years when I can’t sit and read the entirety of The Hobbit in one day) is about the reason this day was chosen to be Tolkien Reading Day in the first place: it’s the anniversary of the Fall of Sauron.

Even if I don’t get to read anything else, I always read The Return of the King, specifically Book VI, the last part of chapter 3 and the beginning of chapter 4, where it all goes down.

The Fall of Sauron

One of the best parts : )

Sometimes, like this year, it very appropriately falls on Good Friday. While The Lord of the Rings isn’t allegory (and Tolkien would roll over in his grave if such a thing were said of his works), it does ring true to what he and CS Lewis called the One True Myth. I think it’s one of those things he would make him smile.

So, happy Good Friday, Easter, and Tolkien Reading Day!

And here’s to being back after far too long.

Do you celebrate Tolkien Reading Day or any other booklover holidays?

6 responses to “Happy Tolkien Reading Day!

Leave a Reply

