The Silmarillion Recaps: The Collection Is Complete

It took two years, but I’ve worked my entire way through The Silmarillion, giving short recaps of the major events in different books/chapters. My original goal was to make it more approachable, since it’s literally like reading the Bible without knowing who anyone is. (It gets confusing pretty fast with so many unfamiliar names!) What I discovered, though, is that it’s far more complex than I originally anticipated, so I’m not sure how approachable it ended up.

What I do know, though, is that now that the story is summarized, there are other places I can go with that information. Right now, I’m pondering which direction to take, and it likely won’t be every week, like it was with the recaps, but having the recaps opens up plenty of possibilities.

I suppose that’s one of the things about being an English major. Even though my main focus was on creative writing, I did so much literary analysis that it’s hard not to analyze what I read. That might not be an altogether bad thing, though.

In any case, if you do plan on checking out the recaps of the delightful Silmarillion, may I recommend using the page and starting at the beginning? The characters start piling up fast, and it makes it much easier to keep everything straight.

Until the next adventure…

6 responses to “The Silmarillion Recaps: The Collection Is Complete

Leave a Reply

