14 Day Writing Challenge: Day 10

Today’s prompt: Write about a funny thing that happened to you.

So basically write about my whole life, right? After all, there’s a touch of humor in everything that happens to me. At least, I sure think so. But I suppose it’s better to focus on one thing, so here we go…

When I was in my tweens, I was renowned for taking pictures. It wasn’t uncommon for me to drag my camera along anywhere I went. At one point, it became so bad that my parents bought me a digital camera (back when digital cameras were still fairly new) because of how much it would save in film. (There were countless times that I got in trouble for taking 5-10 pictures of my dog dressed up in different outfits or taking random pictures just to finish up a roll…)

One of these times, we were camping in RV’s with my now-husband and his family. Since we were staying along the coast, I had decided to take some pictures of the pelicans that often flew by. I sat with my camera on the edge of the beach with my husband waiting patiently beside me. However, the pelicans never showed. I would sit there for an hour or two without seeing a single one.

The minute I put the camera away, one or two would fly by. I would run back to the RV, dig out my camera, and continue my vigil, but nothing would happen until the camera was put away.

At the beginning of the weekend, it was just one or two pelicans at a time. By the end of it, flocks of literally 30 to 40 pelicans would fly by, only while I had no camera. I stood there in disbelief while everyone else laughed. What were the odds of this happening?

After that weekend, I swore that I would never take a picture of a pelican again. So far, I’ve managed to keep that promise. But that doesn’t mean that I’m not stuck seeing pictures of pelicans often. Any time anyone else sees one, they are sure to take a picture of it and show it to me, or worse, tag me. Those darned pelicans.

Have you ever been determined to capture something but it eluded you?

2 responses to “14 Day Writing Challenge: Day 10

Leave a Reply

