50 Years of Star Trek #LLAP50 #StarTrek50

Today marks 50 years since Star Trek first appeared on tv. Needless to say, it’s a day that will be heavily celebrated here. (After all, I do have the Star Trek cookbook.)

We were assimilated long ago. He grew up watching the Original Series every day on a local channel. As a kid, I watched the Next Generation with Mom, and she always said that the little point on one of my ears meant that I was part Vulcan. My husband loved it more than me until we got married. Then Star Trek became a staple of evening tv and I found a new appreciation for it. I’ve watched it all, even part of the Animated Series. Only part of that, though. The purring replacement for Uhura was just too much for me.

My favorite Star Trek memory, though, is the time that a traveling exhibit came to the area, years ago. A group of friends, some family, my husband, and I were anxious to check it out. When we got there, it didn’t disappoint.

As expected, there were original costumes to check out.

dscn1316-medium

And plenty of prosthetics on mannequins.

DSCN1254 (2).JPG

But the best was standing on the sets.

DSCN1273 (Medium).JPG

dscn1308-medium

If wasn’t behind glass, you were allowed to touch it. That included the Original Series bridge. You could sit in the chair and touch the panels, and people were patient enough to wait for you to snap all of the pictures you wanted before taking over the bridge themselves.

So happy 50th birthday, Star Trek! May you continue to live long and prosper.

Are you a Star Trek fan? Which series is your favorite?

4 responses to “50 Years of Star Trek #LLAP50 #StarTrek50

  • Anthony Lee Collins

    I’m pretty fond of the original series (which I watched when it was broadcast the first time around). I think you got a special appreciation for it from seeing it in the context of the rest of what was on TV at that time.

    Cheesy special effects and hammy acting? Not a problem for me, apparently, since my main TV obsession in those days (and ever since) was Dark Shadows.

    • S.B. Roberts

      The Original Series is a favorite around here too. It’s hard to beat Kirk, Spock, and McCoy. I think it does help to watch other shows from the time. I used to watch Lost in Space with my mom when I was very young, and my husband grew up watching things like Get Smart and Hogan’s Heroes (which means they became regulars at my house when we started hanging out during middle school). Oh, and of course plenty of The Twilight Zone. All that to say, though, we were used to other shows from that time so it’s easier to overlook the old effects than for other people who aren’t used to it. (They’re definitely the ones missing out! :) )

  • C.B. Wentworth

    Next Generation will always be my favorite – That’s the series that turned me into a hardcore Trekkie. However, all weekend I’ve been binging on the original series. I know everyone says its cheesy, but I think it’s good!

Leave a Reply

