Sometimes…

Sometimes it’s the reminders of childhood that bring the most comfort.

Disney’s Beauty and the Beast was my first favorite movie. After years of waiting, I finally have it. It’s a bit of a funny story. We bought the original VHS when it came out. (Thankfully, my high schoolers still know what a VHS is. Some of them even still have some. But I know the day is coming when they won’t.) I watched it over and over. Fortunately, not to the point of breaking or overly warping the tape inside that I remember.

Because we had it on VHS, I never really thought about buying it when it came out on DVD. After all, I had the movie. I could sing about wanting more than this provincial life any time I wanted.

Then I grew up and moved out. We moved into the world of DVD’s completely, so I’ve never owned a VHS player of my own as an adult. And since Disney movies have a habit of going in and out of the vault, I realized that I didn’t have my own copy of Beauty and the Beast about seven years ago. Right after it vanished off shelves. I was far more disappointed than I probably should have been, but I really wanted it and had lost my chance.

Now, it’s finally out again, and celebrating its 25th anniversary. And I have it.

 

WP_20160921_16_16_23_Pro.jpg

What better way to watch Beauty and the Beast than enjoying tea with Chip?

 

What better way to relax during the evening than with my first favorite movie and a cup of tea?

What was your first favorite movie?

4 responses to “Sometimes…

  • Anthony Lee Collins

    I don’t think I had a first favorite movie, probably because when I was young movies were a one-time thing. You saw it, it left the theater, and you never saw it again, except perhaps on television.

    It’s a different relationship with a work of art, when it’s not available on demand.

    • S.B. Roberts

      That does make for a different relationship. It’s more like visiting a museum… though there’s not necessarily hope that you’ll ever see the same museum again.

      Of course, that my parents and grandparents might have found that preferable since I was notorious for watching to watch the same movie over and over again. Everyone in the house knew all of the songs from Beauty and the Beast by heart. :)

  • C.B. Wentworth

    I love that movie!!! :-)

    Ferris Bueller’s Day Off was my first favorite. My sister and I watched it almost every day for a while there! :-)

Leave a Reply

