NaNoWriMo 2016, Here I Come!

November is coming again, and it’s finally time to end my two year NaNoWriMo hiatus. The break certainly wasn’t something that I wanted, but there just wasn’t enough time to do participate in NaNoWriMo and enjoy it.

This year, though, things are different. My teaching schedule is manageable, and I have a novel itching to be written. That steampunk/fantasy/sci-fi novel experiment deserves a completed draft, and it’s brewed long enough to (hopefully) turn into a solid first draft. (The first round from a prior NaNoWriMo doesn’t count. It was more like a prolonged brainstorming session in novel form.)

One of the things I love about NaNoWriMo is the discipline that comes with having a set goal for each day. Now that I’m out of my creative funk, it’s just what I need. Something to put me back into a good writing rhythm and that will help push this novel forward.

Are you participating in NaNoWriMo this year? What writing habits do you have that keep you on track?

4 responses to “NaNoWriMo 2016, Here I Come!

  • homedreamer07

    You’re brave for participating in NaNo! Maybe one day I will. Good luck to you:)

    • S.B. Roberts

      :) Thanks! Hopefully there won’t be a lot of catching up during the weekends, like I’ve done in past years. (Sometimes I do better with discipline the whole way through than others. :) )

  • Anthony Lee Collins

    I guess the main thing I do too keep the wheels turning (if that’s why i do it…) is write serially, posting as I go. I find I lose focus otherwise. People who can sit down and write an entire draft of a novel amaze me.

    • S.B. Roberts

      With so many smaller goals, it does seem like it’d be easier to keep focused. Which is wherein the rub often lies.

      I really like the idea of writing serially, but I worry that it wouldn’t work well with the way my stories come together. Characters are constantly causing mischief, and sometimes they flat out change the story on me, which equates to hours of lamenting the strong will of the character(s) and the consolation that comes with chocolate, tea, and long walks followed by serious rewrites. :)

Leave a Reply

