The NaNoWriMo Warm-up Round

NaNoWriMo starts in 9 days.

I’ve been looking forward to saying that after two years off. It’s like counting down the days to Christmas or a vacation. There’s so much anticipation and excitement as I check the days off and figure out what I need to do next to prepare.

Every year, the preparation list looks a little different. Here are the main things I have to do next week to ensure I’m ready for this adventure:

  • Make sure I have a good supply of tea. (I feel like one of Pavlov’s dogs with tea… a cup means it’s time for the creativity to get on the move.)
  • Gather up some chocolate for the occasional treat while writing (or in case the story takes a turn for the worse and I need some encouragement).
  • Get ahead with the French lesson plans.
  • Plan a time each day to write. (It’s more of a guideline than an actual rule.)
  • Write blog posts like crazy.

I do plan on coming by often to read others’ posts, respond to comments, and post about my progress, but it’s hard to do sprints through a novel and try to think of other things to write about at the same time sometimes. So I’m going to try to be smart this year and work ahead. It’ll give my novel a little more time to brew while I wait for November 1 to come around.

One advantage of teaching high school French instead of middle school English this year is that I don’t have to worry about a pile of short stories/essays coming in during the middle of NaNoWriMo. That’s been an inevitability since the first year I participated, and it feels weird that I don’t have to expect that.

With that, guess it’s time to get to work!

What kind of preparations do you do for NaNoWriMo or other big writing projects? Or do you always move steadily through your works so you don’t have to prep like this?

2 responses to “The NaNoWriMo Warm-up Round

Leave a Reply

