NaNoWriMo Week 1 Update

Current word count: 8,030
Day 6 Par: 10,000

I’m starting Day 7 a little behind. On Day 1, I was feeling excited and knew exactly where the story was headed, so I was able to rush through 3,000 some words. It felt great. However, the rest of the week turned out much busier than I originally anticipated. A couple days without much writing makes an impact pretty fast, so the weekend started off pretty low. Okay, a little embarrassingly considering how close to the beginning it is. However, with some progress over the weekend and the anticipation of a little extra time after work today, I think I’ll catch up pretty quick.

So far, writing from the perspective of one character at a time seems like a good idea. The current section of the story is uncharted territory. I’ve written the story of the protagonist once (thanks to another NaNoWriMo), but this side character’s experience is completely new. I know where her story ends up and some details along the way, but I’m starting to reach the place in the rough outline where I don’t know exactly how it all falls together or how quickly to move. After all, it’s not like her story has to be 50,000 words (which is good, because right now I don’t have 50,000 words worth of story to tell), but it needs to be a good chunk. After all, it is very important to the protagonist’s story so it deserves some exploring.

I guess we’ll see what happens this week. Now, back to work (so then I can get back to writing)!

How has is your NaNoWriMo progress going?

2 responses to “NaNoWriMo Week 1 Update

Leave a Reply

