Daily Archives: April 4, 2017

A-Z Challenge: Bestie (A Painting)

WP_20170325_10_25_39_Pro

S.B. Roberts 2017

I’ve been on a major painting spree lately. At least once a week, I’ve taken over the dining room table to make it into a makeshift studio, and I’ve been loving it.

This last painting was different than anything else that I’ve done so far in two ways.

First, it’s a hybrid of things I learned in the book and experimentation. I wanted to paint a dear friend of mine looking out over the ocean for a special occasion. At this point, though, I don’t have any experience with painting people. The best way to get around that: paint just the back of her head.

I started with the same ocean techniques I used when painting “The Deep Blue Sea” and lots of paintings of hair on Pinterest. Then I just went for it.

It’s hard to see all of the different shades on the hair, but in person, there’s a lot of texture. As I finished, I felt that something was missing. It was my husband’s idea to add some black (which I then went back over with the auburn, red, and orange shades) to add some dimension.

The second thing about it is that I actually painted it over three days instead of in one sitting. The blue of the ocean had to dry before adding the red hair, so those were two separate occasions. The third was for touching up since some of the dark blue was thinner than I had hoped for and the sky didn’t look good as just one color.

So there we are. The first painting in which I did something mostly on my own and I really liked it. Now on to the next adventure.