A-Z Challenge: Rings (A Painting)

WP_20170422_14_18_16_Pro

It’s been too long since the last painting. Fortunately, this afternoon has been a lazy one, so I’ve finally been able to create something I’ve been thinking about for a while.

Since I’ve created several paintings for other people, I wanted to make something for my husband to enjoy at his office at work. Of course, since he’s a Trekkie, the obvious answer is space, and Saturn seemed like it would make a compelling but easy enough subject.

I started by laying out the planet’s shape and painting everything except for it black. I’ve learned quickly that darker colors are hard to hide with lighter ones using the paints I have, so these decisions are important to make early on.

Next, I worked on the planet. I started with yellow on the left edge of most of the planet before adding white on the far side to create a glow and brown and black on the other side for shadows. Dawn is on the way.

The rings themselves were the final touch. It’s amazing what a little white paint on black can do. That part felt like magic.

As a finishing touch, I tried to add the Enterprise, but it just didn’t work. I couldn’t find the right spot for it, and when I did try to create it right above the planet, it just didn’t look like it fit. I ended up painting over it, but I’ll try again another time.

I think I’m finally starting to get the hang of creating things without instructions, too. I still have plenty to do in my book and will go back to it, but it’s fun to be able to take ideas from my head and put them on canvas.

5 responses to “A-Z Challenge: Rings (A Painting)

Leave a Reply

