That Awkward Moment When You Accidentally Sign up for NaNoWriMo

Funny story. Last time I wrote, I had talked myself out of doing a traditional NaNoWriMo. 10 minutes a day was a reasonable goal that could fit into my busy life. It wasn’t much, but it was something.

Then November happened. November 1st, I just visited the NaNoWriMo website to see if you could set alternative goals. Next thing I knew, I was signed up and wondering what I had done.

When my husband got home, I told him. He smiled and told me that I could do it. He’d help make sure I could. And he did. Thanks to him, I hit 50,000 words on November 30th. He and my daughter were there when I submitted the final word count.

So where have I been the past two months? Writing my novel in my spare time. Revisiting and reimagining a world that I know so well. Learning how to make writing a priority again and rediscovering how refreshing it is to my soul. I had forgotten how much I needed it.

Now, much to my surprise, 2019 is already here. I would be tempted to set goals, but I’ve decided against it for now. My goal is simply to keep writing. Here, my novel, everywhere. It’s what I was created to do.

How is your 2019 so far? Do you have any special goals?